Why Is “Hell” A Bad Word?

by

Dysfunctional Literacy

When it comes to profanity, the word “hell” isn’t that bad.  It’s not as profane as “s***” or “f***” or “c***.”  In fact, it might be the least offensive of the bad words, but when I was a kid, I still got my mouth washed out with soap if I said it in front of my parents.

A lot of words led to my mouth getting washed out with soap.  I got my mouth washed out with soap for saying “Hoover Dam.”  I probably shouldn’t have whispered “Hoover” and then shouted “DAM!!!!”  I got my mouth washed out with soap for saying “shitzhu.”  I probably shouldn’t have shouted “Sh*t” and whispered the “zhu.”  Now that I think about it, I probably deserved getting my mouth washed out with soap.

“Hell” is similar to a lot of vulgar words in that it has four letters.  Four seems to be the magic…

View original post 557 altre parole

Rispondi

